Club History

History of NSFA (Formely KDSA) Involvement in Representative Football.

First Ku-ring-gai representative teams entered NSW Amateur Soccer Association competitions n 1959 or 1960.

Ku-ring-gai United was formed in 1963 and entered the NSW Soccer Federations's Amateur League.  This was the first Senior representative team.

Ku-ring-gai United became Ku-ring-gai Soccer Club Ltd. in 1970 and merged with Artarmon to form Artarmon-Ku-ring-gai. They competed in the NSW Soccer Federation Division Two Competition.

In 1975 Ku-ring-gai played a curtain-raiser at the SCG before the Australia V Glasgow Rangers match.

Ku-ring-gai SC merged with North Sydney/Artarmon in 1989 to form North Shore United. This folded in 1960.

In 2001 Ku-ring-gai enter a Senior team and an U18 team in the NSW Soccer Association Premier League.  The U18's won the Grand Final.

KDSA purchased a NSW Soccer Federation Division 1 license from Balmain Tigers in 2002. The name was changed to Northern Tigers.  The U21's won the Grand Final.

In 2003 Northern Tigers won promotion to the Super League by winning the First Division title.  Ku-ring-gai had won this trophy when it was the Divison Two trophy in the 1980's.
Ku-ring-gai reps in the U13 - U18 age groups changed their names to Northern Tigers.  The U11 & U12 teams continue as Ku-ring-gai Association.

In 2007 Northern Tigers Senior team won the Winter Super League Competition.  The U20's won the competition and the Grand Final in 2008.

Northern Tigers players have twice won the Silver Medal for Best Player in the Super League.  Paul Davies in 2006 and Stuart Page in 2008.

The first Girl's team to represent KDSA was formed in 2002.  In the late 70's and early 80's a separate Women's Association was formed and a Senior team and U15 team competed as Ku-ring-gai.

In 2005 Northern Tigers entered a Senior team and an U21 team in the Women's Super League.

In 2010 the Northern Tiger's Men's team claimed the club's first ever Super League Championship under Coach Jason Eagar wih 4-0 win over St George.

In 2011 Gabriella Dal Pozzo wins the Women's Silver Medal for Best Player in Women's Super League.

Over the years teams representing KDSA have won several competitions and grand finals and produced many State representatives.  The most notable players to have represented KDSA include:

Murray Barnes, Robert Hooker, Bruce Djite, Grant Lee and Robert Wheatley.

Leigh Wardell, Thea Slatyer

U20 Youth International
Brett Hughes

Australian Schoolboys
Brian Ellem, Derek Poimer, Greg Fuchs

U13 Australian Girls team, 2010
Stephanie Maiolo, Lauren Stein

National League
Andy Harper, Brett Hughes, Brian Ellem, Duncan Worthington, Stuart Robertson, Adam Snyder, James Stubbs-Mills, Grant Last and Derek Poimer.

Tigers Weekly Wrap

Click HERE for the latest Newsletter

Video of Games

Click Logo to Purchase copies of all Northern Tigers Home Games 



Official Gear Supplier


Our Sponsors

Lincs BBQ Suppliers - Hornsby 

Football NSW